RSS

Traveling and Tasting

16 Dec

It turns out I am writing this from Reston, VA. I was up at 04:55 this morning for an 08:00 PST flight that arrived at IAD 26 minutes early (at 15:44 EST). So I’m a bit tired right now: It’s been a long day!

Tonight I had dinner nearby at McCormick & Schmick’s, and finished the dinner with my kind of dessert: Dalwhinnie 15. The restaurant had a fair selection of whisky, broken down by region. They had about 10 marked as “Highland,” about 10 marked as “Speyside,” and a handful from Islay. This dram was pretty nice for $11: A hint of peat with a leathery nose and a nice finish. Not a lot of typical oaky notes (vanillas and caramels); based on the color, I was expecting those (this clearly was aged in ex-Bourbon barrels). Based on other reviews, I was expecting berries but I didn’t get them. It was crisp and drinkable (at 43% ABV) and was what I’d call fairly malty, which surprised me for a 15-year-old expression.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 16-December-2008 in Whisky2.0

 

Leave a Reply

 
