RSS

Slogging (I Mean Blogging)

07 Jun

I have learned how to do a better job using WordPress features. For instance, tags vs. categories. I used to not use tags, but I learned by helping my wife with her blogs (Pix & Pieces, and Pieces & Pix) that I have missed out on the power of tags.

So I am in the process of converting all my distillery names to tags. This means I am editing over 200 pages on this site. You will gradually see more distillery names appearing in the “Distillery Names” section in the right sidebar, and the names will be disappearing from the Category cloud. I’m also adding more graphics (yay!) in each story.

One other thing I’m taking the time to do is that I am hyper-linking all the post codes to the Google Map data so you can see exactly where the distillery is. Google StreetView is way cheaper than flying to Scotland, and if you ever visit you will want to know what you are looking for before you get there. I’m having a blast driving around Scotland (virtually!) to find all the distilleries. I don’t know if I’ll be able to this for other countries so easily…all you have to do is type a UK post code into Google Maps and you pretty immediately get very close to what you’re looking for.

Let me know what you think. Each distillery listing is intended to be an anchor to which comments can be attached, so people can add their expressions as comments. I am categorizing all the distilleries with who owns them, what region and country they are in, and other meta-data that might apply to multiple distilleries.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 7-June-2010 in Whisky2.0

 

2 responses to “Slogging (I Mean Blogging)

  1. dmaufer

    7-June-2010 at 13:50

    Looking Good!

     
    • whisky2dot0

      8-June-2010 at 21:19

      Thanks! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
