RSS

Beltramo’s May Never Be the Same

21 Nov

It’s hard to appreciate how big an impact a single person can have on a business. I have written many times about how lucky I was to live near Beltramo’s, since they have such an excellent selection and (importantly) knowledgeable staff. I didn’t know it then, but the staff is way more important than the selection!

The primary guy who dealt with whisk(e)y — Ken C. — had to move away. His wife got a job in Southern California, so they moved. It was very sudden. I had really enjoyed the rapport we had built, since he knew what I liked and could point me to new things I might also like.

No matter what you might think by reading this blog, I’m not in there every day, or even every week. I happened to stop within a couple weeks after he had gone, and asked why the shelves were relatively empty (compared with overflowing). That’s when I was told that he had moved.

It was apparent that the impact had been felt almost immediately. Within those couple weeks, the shelves had gone from their usual levels of fully stocked (at overwhelming levels, normally) to sparse. Not bare, but I have never seen so much empty space in that department. It was sad to see a formerly thriving business in that state. I hope Beltramo’s can recover from this loss.

I just wanted to say, for the record, that I wish Ken C. all the best! I didn’t realize until after he was gone that it wasn’t Beltramo’s that I was purchasing from…it was Ken.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 21-November-2010 in Whisky2.0

 

3 responses to “Beltramo’s May Never Be the Same

  1. Jason JY

    22-November-2010 at 01:04

    Well said, Tom. Ken was a great guy to see and talk whisky with. I greatly enjoyed doing business with him over the last three years and I was sad to see him leave for Southern California.

     
  2. whisky2dot0

    22-November-2010 at 08:15

    Thanks for that. It’s a tough loss for the whisky community, but I really do wish him (and his wife) all the best.

     
  3. Thomas Maufer

    10-July-2016 at 12:30

    Sadly, Beltramo’s is about to go out of business entirely. It’s not due to Ken leaving…the owners could not find a buyer and decided to retire and sell the land. I can’t blame them but I will miss the store!

     

Leave a Reply

 
