RSS

You Put Whiskey in What?

05 Jun

Yesterday, my wife (always on the lookout for interesting mentions of whisk(e)y in the world), forwarded me an email from Daily Candy:

This company (Gelateria Naia) has a lot of very interesting Gelato flavors (and really, how could you make it better? PUT IT ON A STICK!), but two flavors jumped immediately to the fore:

  1. St. George Single Malt Whiskey
  2. Blue Bottle Coffee

So, of course, I ran right out to Whole Foods (the only nearby place that had this product) for experimental supplies. For science. 🙂

There is a distilling connection to both of these. St. George Spirits in Alameda, CA makes St. George single-malt whiskey (and I have a bottle of lot number 6). So this was a match made in heaven: Would I be able to tell that there was St. George single-malt in the eponymous gelato bar? But before I reveal the answer, to the real question of whether it’s a good idea to make ice cream with whiskey in it, I have to reveal how St. George is related to Blue Bottle Coffee (btw, they have the world’s simplest web page!).

Blue Bottle makes outstanding coffee and they got started in the San Francisco Bay Area as a micro-roaster. They acquired a loyal following and grew into a small set of stores with a bigger loyal following. They worked with St. George (another local company) to create Firelit, a coffee liqueur, a brandy with the essence of coffee at its heart. I was lucky enough to get some of the first batch. It’s amazing. Tomorrow’s experiment will be to see how close the gelato is to the Firelit.

But for today, we have an interesting observation. I personally never have whisk(e)y with ice. I believe that cold temperatures dull the palate. I am ok if you have it with ice. It’s your whisk(e)y…have it how you like it. But I think that while the gelato definitely tasted of whiskey, and I had some of the precious liquid handy for comparison purposes, the cold definitely dampened the flavor (and aroma). It was clearly made with whiskey, but what you end up with is a shadow of the original spirit. With that said, it’s one of the best gelati I have ever had!
 
1 Comment

Posted by on 5-June-2011 in Whisky2.0

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “You Put Whiskey in What?

  1. Dan Cave

    10-June-2011 at 01:58

    Ha ha Excellents, I was thinking about how to combine whisky and bacon the other day. I am considering it again now.

    I did make a whisky apples desert a few months ago too:

    http://whiskytimes.co.uk/2011/03/whisky-baked-apple-with-lemon-ginger-and-raisins/

     

Leave a Reply

 
